Pretty Little Wife

Release date: December 29th, 2020

Synopsis:

Debut author Darby Kane thrills with this twisty domestic suspense novel that asks one central question: shouldn’t a dead husband stay dead?

Lila Ridgefield lives in an idyllic college town, but not everything is what it seems. Lila isn’t what she seems. A student vanished months ago. Now, Lila’s husband, Aaron, is also missing. At first these cases are treated as horrible coincidences until it’s discovered the student is really the third of three unexplained disappearances over the last few years. The police are desperate to find the connection, if there even is one. Little do they know they might be stumbling over only part of the truth….

With the small town in an uproar, everyone is worried about the whereabouts of their beloved high school teacher. Everyone except Lila, his wife. She’s definitely confused about her missing husband but only because she was the last person to see his body, and now it’s gone.

My review:

I couldn’t help but feel for Lila as more of this story unfolded. I ended up enjoying her personality more than I thought that I would. More than meets the eye is a running theme within this book, especially with most of the characters. The constant struggle between Ginny and Lila was intriguing to watch unfold. Not one, but two, strong fighting for their version of justice. Offsetting Ginny and her husband with Lila and Aaron brought both relationships into stark contrast. You never know what is lurking beneath the surface of something that seems idyllic.

There were a LOT of shocking twists – right down to the very end. While the end was indeed shocking it was so good – like a self-satisfied cat. Pretty Little Wife is a rapid-fire suspense thriller that I wholeheartedly enjoyed, it was hard to set it down. After all – like the blurb says, if you kill someone you wouldn’t just expect them to disappear right?

I would recommend this book to readers who enjoy domestic suspense, serial offenders, thrillers, and dark mysteries. This book would be perfect for fans of The Girl from Widow Hills. I can only hope Darby Kane continues to write, this debut was one of the best I’ve read in a while – I’ll be on the lookout for further novels. As always, thank you to William Morrow, Scene of the Crime FB Group, and NetGalley for the opportunity to read Pretty Little Wife – all opinions are my own.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

8 thoughts on “Pretty Little Wife

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: